← Go back to the news overview.

FIFA 2010 World Cupô Teams Finalised

Published by Oli Walsh
Print Send RSS

Your details

Recipient's details

Add a personal message (optional)

Last week saw the completion of the play offs, confirming the last remaining teams for the FIFA 2010 World Cupô, albeit in controversial circumstances!
Barring any last minute appeals or replays, which are very unlikley, we are very excited to be welcoming the following teams to South Africa;
Algeria, Ivory Coast, Cameroon, Nigeria, Ghana, South Africa, Australia, Korea DPR, Korean Republic, Japan, Denmark, France, Greece, Netherlands, Serbia, Slovenia, Switzerland, England, Germany, Italy, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, Honduras, Mexico, USA, Argentina, Brazil, Uruguay, Paraguay, Chile, New Zealand.
A few facts about the qualifiers and teams (source FIFA.com):
200 teams took part in the qualifying campaign
2344 goals were scored in total
5602 players took part in the qualifiers
The highest ranked team to have qualified is Spain, with current World Champions Italy ranked 4th. The lowest ranked team is hosts South Africa, ranked 86th.
The oldest player in the qualifiers was Montserrat's Kenny Dyer who was 43 years and one month, while the youngest, Abdi Abdifatah of Somalia, who had just turned 14.
We eagerly await the draw which will be held in Cape Town on the 4th December to see which teams will be coming to Durban.
Previous ArticleNext Article
↑ Top